You are here

Social Work Advisory Committee

Jefferson College Social Work Advisory Committee Members:

Jama Anthony-Petter, MSW, LCSW

Gayle Beck, BSW


Angela Brumfield, BSW

Melanie Gowdy, MSW

Melanie Gowdy defines herself as an eclectic Social Work Practitioner. Specializing in macro community practice, Melanie dedicates herself to empowering communities through agency and the pursuit of social justice. As an adjunct instructor at both Jefferson College and Washington University Brown School of Social Work, she has helped equip the next generation of social justice advocates. As a social worker at Legal Services of Eastern Missouri, she has been an advocate for some of our state’s most vulnerable residents. As Director of Social Work Services at 1st Choice In-Home Care Services, she empowers individuals to live with dignity.

Some of Melanie’s accomplishments are being awarded UMSL’s Community Building Fellowship and being featured in the St. Louis Business Journal’s People on the Move as well as the St. Louis American’s Health Profile. A strong believer in being an agent of change she believes in the capacity of the human spirit to grow, thrive, and shine. Melanie enjoys a good book, a good nap, and good trouble.

Tracey Kramer, BSW

Heather Lawyer, MSW, LCSW

Cyndi Morgan, BSW, MBA/HCM, LNHA

Assistant Administrator
Crystal Oaks Skilled Care, Assisted Living and Rehabilitation Center
1500 Calvary Church Road, Crystal City, MO  63019

Sharon Skidmore, MSW, LCSW

Sherry Snoke, MSW, LCSW

Elizabeth Strautz, MSW, LCSW

Susan Welch, MSW, LCSW

Associate Professor of Sociology & Social Work

Debbie Wolf, MSW, LCSW

Lutheran Family and Children's Services
Program Manager of Foster Care Case Management


Accredited Social Work Programs

The Council on Social Work
Education (CSWE) is the
accrediting body for Bachelor's
and Master's level schools 
of Social Work. In order
to use the title of Social
Worker, you must attend
an accredited school. View
the list in order to ensure your
next school is accredited:

Directory of Accredited Programs

Questions? Contact:
Suzie Welch

2060 - STL - Jefferson College - Open House - 5600 - APR 2060 - STL - Jefferson College - Showcase - 5600 - APR