You are here

Accreditation Team Visits

What is accreditation?
Accreditation is a universally acknowledged standard of institutional quality. Specifically, HLC defines five criteria, which demonstrate institutional effectiveness. The five criteria are:

  1. Mission;
  2. Integrity: Ethical and Responsible Conduct;
  3. Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources, and Support;
  4. Teaching and Learning: Evaluation and Improvement;
  5. Resources, Planning, and Institutional Effectiveness

Accreditation by HLC provides assurance to the public that the College has met the established criteria and the evidence indicates that the College will continue to meet them.  Jefferson was first accredited by HLC in 1969.

What is HLC?
HLC stands for the “Higher Learning Commission.”  The HLC mission is, “Serving the common good by assuring and advancing the quality of higher learning.”  HLC accredits colleges and universities in a 19-state region of the United States. HLC is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as a gatekeeper agency. HLC has agreed to fulfill specific federally defined responsibilities within the accreditation processes to assure quality in higher education for the students who benefit from federal financial aid programs.

Why is accreditation important to Jefferson College and its students?

Re-Accreditation is important! For example:

  1. Jefferson College transfer courses will continue to be accepted by other colleges.
  2. Students will continue to have the opportunity to apply for federal financial aid, such as Pell grants.
  3. Students will be assured that they are receiving a high quality education.

When is the on-site evaluation?
The HLC Peer Review Team will be on our campus March 11-12, 2019.

Peer Review Team
HLC Peer Review Teams are volunteers of approximately 1,600 faculty and administrators from institutions within the 19-state North Central region. They are responsible for assuring that an institution is complying with the accreditation criteria as well as for helping an institution advance within the context of its own mission.

How can you help?
Keep informed about your campus and the accreditation effort so that you can talk knowledgeably to the HLC Peer Review Team when they visit the campus.  Visiting team members may talk to individuals or groups informally or formally. Volunteer to be part of a group if a meeting is requested by the HLC Peer Review Team. If you have questions, please feel free to contact members from the Accreditation Committee, or Higher Learning Commission conference attendees or Assurance Argument Task Force Members.

Assurance Argument Criterion Writing Teams

Criterion 1
Criterion 4
Co-Chairs: Co-Chairs:
Dr. Diane Arnzen, Director of Project SUCCESS Ms. Shanie Latham, Associate Professor of English
Mr. Paul Ferber, Associate Professor of Law Enforcement Academy Mr. Chris Otto, Associate Professor of English
Mr. Bill Sansagraw, previous Instructor of Biomedical Electronics Technology  Mr. Kenny Wilson, Interim Associate Dean of Health Occupation Programs
Committee and Component Researcher & Authors: Committee and Component Researcher & Authors:
Ms. Erin Bova, Webmaster-Digital Marketing Coordinator Ms. Janet Akers, Program Director/Assistant Professor of Radiologic Technology
Ms. Patti Christen, previous Jefferson College Foundation Executive Director Ms. Kelly Almond, previous AEL/GED Head Resource Instructor
Ms. Shanna Meyer, previous Enrollment Services Specialist
Mr. Wesley Whitfield, Associate Professor of Chemistry Ms. Lisa Pavia-Higel, Associate Professor of Communication & Theatre
Mr. Richard Stephenson, Coordinator of Academic Success Center
Ms. Stacey Wilson, Registrar
Criterion 2 Criterion 5
Co-Chairs:  Co-Chairs: 
Dr. Ken Boning, Professor of Teacher Education Ms. Trish Aumann, Director of Institutional Effectiveness & Strategic Planning
Ms. Lisa Pritchard, Director of Library Services Mr. Allan Wamsley, Senior Director of Online Learning & Assessment
Committee and Component Researchers & Authors: Committee and Component Researcher & Authors:
Dr. Diane Arnzen, Director of Project SUCCESS      Mr. Joseph Candela, Professor of Welding 
Dr. Michael Booker, Interim Associate Dean of Communications & Fine Arts Ms. Gabrielle Everett, Professor of History
Mr. Joe Kohlburn, Emerging Technologies Librarian Mr. Daryl Gehbauer, Vice President of Finance and Administration
Dr. Cindy Rossi, Professor of Business  Mr. Richard Hardin, previous Controller
Mr. Tracy James, Senior Director of Information Technology
Ms. Kathy Johnson, Assistant Professor of Business Management
 Dr. Patricia McDaniel, Professor of Biology
Mr. Greg McVey, previous Director of Athletics
Ms. Tasha Welsh, Director of Human Resources
Criterion 3 Federal Compliance
Co-Chairs:  Co-Chairs:
Ms. Connie Kuchar, Professor of Mathematics Ms. Sarah Bright, Director of Student Financial Services
Ms. Dana Nevois, Director of Veterinary Technology Dr. Amy Kausler, Professor of Psychology
Ms. Niki Vogelsang, Assistant Professor of Health Information Technology  Committee and Component Researcher & Authors:
Committee and Component Researcher & Authors: Dr. Diane Arnzen, Director of Project SUCCESS
Ms. Leslie Buck, Professor of Psychology Mr. Roger Barrentine, Director of Public Relations and Marketing
Mr. Scott Cazadd, Associate Professor of Business Ms. Louise Jadwisiak, previous Assistant Professor of Nursing 
Mr. Chris DeGeare, Interim Associate Dean of Business & Technical Education Ms. Laura Klaus, Interim Director of Area Technical School
Ms. Kathy Johnston, Director of Enrollment & Retention Ms. Dianne Marquart, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Dr. Andrea St. John, Professor of English Dr. Dena McCaffrey, Dean of Career & Technical Education
Ms. Suzie Welch, Assistant Professor of Sociology & Social Work Ms. Elizabeth Steffen, Access Services Librarian
Mr. Allan Wamsley, Senior Director of Online Learning & Assessment
Ms. Stacey Wilson, Registrar

2060 - STL - Jefferson College - Open House - 5600 - APR 2060 - STL - Jefferson College - Showcase - 5600 - APR